Politicize

I hope this copy of an email I sent out to my constituents finds you enjoying this beautiful summer! Last week, we had a summer City Council meeting on the Waltham High School project. I could say so much about this vital project, but I will let our future say it for me. “Do Not Politicize Our Education,” read Catherine’s sign. Her parents Mike Chen and Carolina Lara brought both of their kids to the meeting. Thank you, Catherine, for this sign!!! Our children are our future, but they are looking to us for our leadership. This is a defining moment for us – will we work to build a new High School or will we politicize it as we saw tonight?

Awhile back, I was throwing around ideas on education when the person with whom I was speaking, quickly pointed out that it’s wasn’t my job to come up with an education plan – Dr. Drew Echelson had done that. I couldn’t agree with them more!!! I read that brilliant education plan and know that one day, it will be a national/global model (it’s already a state model). However, for that vision to come to fruition, it needs to be housed somewhere.

We heard a lot about taxes from Councillors, and from the City Auditor, about the single-family tax impact. I have many constituents who do not mind paying a tad extra (maybe an extra $300/yr as we learned) if it means our kids will get a new high school.

Our children deserve a competitive edge in a global job market and economy. Councillor Randy LeBlanc shared his story about how traditional school wasn’t for him, but CVTE was – a most moving moment and testimony. He could have fallen through the cracks simply because he learned differently, as many kids do. If my daughter hadn’t attended a high school that catered to her learning style and interests, she wouldn’t have gotten into a competitive university like Georgetown. I remember her telling me that if she was going to change the world, she needed to live and study in the world. Therefore, she decided that she wanted to spend her first semester of 11th grade studying in Israel. She did some research and found a school she wanted to attend.
Consequently, the director of student studies at Lexington Christian Academy Dr. Kim Winsor, said to her, “Well Elizabeth, then you’ll be the pioneer of our Global Concentration Program. And just like that, the program was launched. I share that story to say that this is not the time to politicize our kids’ education – it’s time to lead.

In January, I attended a presentation that Dr. Echelson, the design team, and Mayor Jeanette McCarthy gave to the Massachusetts School Building Authority. One of the MSBA board members could not contain his excitement about the plan. Dr. Echelson’s education plan; project-based learning in integrated spaces, is the future of education. The design of those spaces is inclusive, innovative, and just what our diverse student body needs to excel.

I would be remiss if I didn’t thank one of my heroes; Dr. Echelson, the brilliant educators who have worked so hard on this, Mayor McCarthy, the School Committee, the School Building Committee, the design team, and anyone else I might have left out. THANK YOU for your continued investment in our future! Our children are our future! Catherine is our future! Seeing her at the meeting that night, with her unwavering courage – urging the Council not to politicize her education, renewed my hope that it’s a bright future! 💛

Here’s hoping you’ll join me in support of a 21st Century High School for our kids.New High School

Yours Sincerely,

Councillor Nabulime