Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Favorite Elizabeths

I love strong, smart, secure, and beautiful women like Senator Elizabeth Warren, who recognize the mantle of leadership that’s on them to impart, teach, mentor, and cast vision to the next generation of leaders. You’ve heard the saying that a leader is only as good as the people they surround themselves with. Well, Senator Warren’s team is “nothing short of amazing” as my daughter fondly refers to it.

In my Buganda culture, they say it takes a village to raise a child. In fact, the first female presidential nominee of a major party, Hillary Rodham Clinton, wrote and published an entire book about the notion, “It Takes a Village,” in 1996, the year before my daughter was born. On this flash back friday, I just wanted to thank Senator Warren and her team for being part of my village. Thank you for your integral part in raising my daughter! This picture is from Elizabeth’s High School internship at Senator Warren’s Boston office. Not so long ago, I was at a Clinton campaign event when a member of the the Senator’s team came up to me and asked, “Are you Elizabeth’s mom? I smiled and said yes. The person went on to say that it was a pleasure having Elizabeth as an intern. We chatted for a bit and our conversation ended with them saying, “Please tell her we say hello and that we miss her.” As a mom, those are the proud mommy moments that are among the highest compliments in this thing called parenting. A heart warming confirmation that it does take a village to raise a child.

Below is my daughter’s experience at the Senator’s office as first published in Lexington Christian Academy’s Lantern:

“This past May I was truly blessed with the opportunity to intern at United States Senator Elizabeth Warren’s office. The experience was unparalleled as it widened my eyes to the dreams and aspirations that I hold. During my time at the office I was able to research different initiatives and resources around the country while learning many valuable lessons from Regional Directors. There was never a dull moment! One of my favorite moments took place towards the end of the internship when the Senator came by the office. It was a joy to see her, hear from her and even take a photo with her! When I look back on those three weeks, I can’t say there was ever a moment where I wanted to be somewhere else. People are my passion and I love hearing the stories of others and helping them rise above whatever circumstances surround them– and that is exactly what the office exists to do. It was my true honor to intern in an office where the work and people were/are nothing short of amazing!”

This past summer, Elizabeth had the distinct honor of working for Senator Warren in her Washington, DC office. I thank God for women like Senator Elizabeth Warren. She reminds me of some of my favorite women in the Bible; her courage mirrors Esther’s, her loyalty parallels Naomi’s and her love is just like Dorcas.’ In our home, we call her the Lioness of the Senate. Here’s my daughter’s reflection of gratitude in a recent Instagram post:

“It was beyond an absolute honor to work for a Senator who cannot be definitively described. She’s spectacular. She’s gritty. She’s full of grace. And most importantly, she cares deeply for her constituents and her country. The moments spent conversing with her, listening to her and learning from her this summer were priceless. She’s a role model for us all. Regardless of where your political beliefs lie … This is a woman who works with all her heart because she truly believes in playing her part as a voice for those who need to be heard and need to be helped. There aren’t enough “thank yous” that I can say. Being part of your team @senwarren was an incredible experience. Thank you for your fight. I’ll continue to cheer you on. May God Bless you and your team.”

Indeed! May God continue to bless you Senator, may He shine His face upon you and may He continue to establish the work of your hands. Thank you for being our champion in the Senate!